A coffee for the beautiful lady

It surely wasn’t a just another day of my life.

Our college fest was on rage but my rage had a different story.

It’s origin was accounted for by the treacherous activity of a venomous snake which had taken a human- form. ( It’s been 9 months but I yet can’t seem to forgive .. women I am ).

But for the respect of the societal beings I was draped in a 6- yard piece of clothing which belonged to my mother previously.

I dredged my decision to wear a saree from the moment I stepped out of my house. The numerous amount of pins poked around didn’t seem to hold it right and it seemed like the saree didn’t like me either. ( I prefer mutual resentment, so it was ok)

We ( me and my saree) compromised on a deal to stick around till the end of the day and then never to see each other again ( I’m never known to keep my side of the bargain..but that’s a secret..so shhhh)

College was a bore even though I saw glimmering faces all around. So I left early to meet a friend in MacD ( short for Mac Donald)

I didn’t want to go alone so I pulled along my then- friend who wasn’t really reluctant to come along thanks to our mutually – shared rage for the snake.

I entered the place and took a corner seat.

It was a normal scene of two teens sitting on a table with two phones staring at their faces and fingers vigorously punishing the screen for being so bright.

I suddenly look up to find a pair of soft endearing eyes looking at me with a smile ( Nahh..it wasn’t my Mr. Navy).

Those beautiful eyes belonged to his ( now ours) friend. She gave me the brightest smile and I smiled back though secretly wondering if she thinks I’m a homo.

I look back into my phone and the next thing I notice is the man sitting right across her ( his back facing me) suddenly flings his head around and his eyes settling on me.

This sudden turn of events promptly suggested my conclusive brain that she asked him to check me out. I shot a look of indignation and loyally returned my attention to my phone which seemed to be begging for my attention.

A couple of minutes later they exchange seats ( noticed from my strong peripheral vision). I decided then to be a strong girl and looked up to see what they were up to. I was flattered to see a pair of brown pearl- like eyes gleaming at me and curved lips forming a smile. I couldn’t help but smile back.

I returned my attention to my phone. This man then comes up to my table ( that audacity ) and very sweetly ( indeed ) asked if he could keep his bag on our table. I kept staring into blank space and my embarrassed friend acknowledged our table guest. He kept his bag with the same smile and walked off.

My eyes followed his tracks until I lost him in the crowd. And then I realized the friend was missing too. I didn’t pay much heed to the chain of events and sought to scroll Instagram.

A couple of minutes later, I find a charming man ( the same guy though ;p ) standing in front of me with a tray holding a delicious smelling coffee and the same glint in his eyes. Stupid me yet kept staring into blank space.

He kept the tray in from of me with the most charming smile and said,

“A coffee for the beautiful lady”.

I couldn’t do anything as my cheeks flushed with the fresh flow of blood as my brain crackled to find a proper reply.

I smiled widely and he asked me to taste it and let him know if it was good enough because Mr. Navy had made it himself.

I relenquish every second of his mannerisms which stand out . Their gentlemanly nature seems to be born with them. The way they carry themselves is like some form of dance which is beyond the human comprehension of Grace.

I just smiled and blushed deeper as the taste of coffee beans touched my lips and I loved every sip of it.

I thanked him for the coffee and I walked out of the place ( I know it was stupid that I didn’t even ask why he gave me a coffee). I simply enjoyed a free coffee and loads of attention from a well- mannered stranger ( talks of being a strong girl )

I had to use the washroom and when I walk out I see this man standing there looking at me again. I tell my friend about my well- mannered stalker and we keep walking ahead ignoring his silent stare.

A few steps ahead he stopped us and looked at me with the same charming smile and handed me a piece of paper. I didn’t even glance at it as I kept a straight face.

He just smiled wide and said,

I’m looking for a friend in you. That’s my number and my details. Call me only if you feel like. No pressure

Saying this he walked away without turning back even once. I was surprised at the nonchalant behavior but the demeanor he projected was magnetic.

I looked down at the card ( which was by the way a feedback card of MacD). It had his name and number and below this was written his occupation which answered all my questions regarding his projected personality. It read…

Navy Doctor!!!

2 thoughts on “A coffee for the beautiful lady

Leave a comment